The Big Chop!!!!!

For years I’ve contemplated cutting my hair, and on May 3, 2018 I finally did it.

The big chop has been something I’ve always been afraid of doing because of the things other people would say or think. I feared that I wouldn’t look pretty without my “head full of hair”. I made sure I stuck to styles that fit my face such as ponytails, box braids, and faux locs.

For about the past 2 years I’ve been on the natural journey, trying not to put relaxers in my hair while also trying to stick to natural and organic things. I found that it wasn’t an easy thing to do because I didn’t actually know how to properly manage my hair. I recently found myself doing more and more research into doing the big chop and how to manage my hair. I began seeing more people doing the big chop.

On May 2, 2018 I was scrolling through my Instagram and saw pictures of so many people on their natural hair journey that I just got inspired to cut my hair. The next day I was not satisfied with short hair because I still did not know how to properly manage it so I cut it all off. I had basically shaved my head. 20180507_215016_wm

Day by day I’m getting more comfortable and confident with my decision. I’m slowly learning how to properly take care of my hair. I’m teaching myself to get into a specific routine of moisturizing everyday, washing my hair weekly, and sleeping with a silk bonnet.

I will keep you all updated on my journey from the growth of my hair, the products I’ve been using as well as my hair care routine.

Until next time…

Jenny of Jenny J’s World ❤

Leave a comment